just a little excited!


For those of you who have been following all of these crazy marbles, I am extremely grateful and excited to say that one of my marketing marbles resulted in some fun news from the Virginia Chapter of the Society of Marketing Professional Services this week. SMPS National was kind enough to publish the Member Spotlight below on our recent Rising Star Award presentation and other educational successes for the chapter. I am so proud to be a part of this chapter and organization and so thankful for the fellow marketers I have met along the way.

SMPS Member Spotlight

News: This March, I proudly accepted the 2011 Rising Star Award from SMPS Virginia! For the past year, I have thoroughly enjoyed helping to lead SMPS Virginia’s educational efforts as a regional Brownbag Coordinator for the Richmond, VA, area. Also, as support to our communications efforts and social media initiatives, I manage our organizational Facebook page and Twitter profile.

Fun Fact: @SMPSVA was recently listed in ZweigWhite’s AEC Press List as a “Must-Follow AEC Twitter Account”!

# of years in the A/E/C industry: 3

How has SMPS helped you in your career? This year would not have been the same had I not become a member of SMPS VA. In addition to my membership, my involvement with the board and my role on supporting committees have sparked a new love of volunteering for an organization that strives to educate and inspire marketing professionals in the A/E/C industry. The professionals I have had the opportunity to meet and work with and the events I have attended have been invaluable. They have provided me the insight to bring forward-thinking ideas to my firm.

Helpful hint to share with your fellow SMPS members: As a social media manager for KSA Interiors and SMPS Virginia, I find tools such as Digsby and Hootsuite extremely valuable! Check them out!

If you write for your firm, or are involved in trending research, and have not already subscribed to Copyblogger, do so! This site keeps trending topics and copywriting tips coming!

Tell us something we would be surprised to learn about you. I have always wanted to write a series of children’s books. To travel the nation reading fun stories to hopeful and happy faces would be incredible! I also enjoy sharing articles about writing, marketing, events, and other fun things through my blog, “A Jar Full of Marbles.”

What I did at work yesterday: Began by planning our approach options for several upcoming business development meetings and conferences, scheduled calls for targeted client and strategic teaming introductions, monitored and updated posts for KSA Interiors’ and SMPS Virginia’s social media sites, released KSA’s latest email marketing blast linked to our company blog “What Inspires You?” and prepared for a day of mentoring and training with our current marketing intern.

Leave a Reply

