happy new year


first, with all sincerity, i’d like to wish you all a very happy new year! i hope that you celebrated its’ arrival well with loved ones.

the new year typically brings with it a realization that another year has passed, a shock that a new one is ahead, a healthy fear of what lies ahead as well as a bit of excitement and hope, and so many more thoughts, feelings, and emotions. 2010 has been a huge year for myself, my family, and many friends. perhaps it is my age or the time i am currently leaving and entering in the span of my lifetime, but i have watched my older siblings make a large move and go through many trials while beginning a family, watched many friends make transitions from graduations, job changes, moving in together, engagements, marriages (including our own wedding day), and watched my parents and grandparents continue to age fairly gracefully and cope with the growing of their own children.

perhaps due to where i find myself after this packed year of emotional, physical, and mental highs and lows all around – i feel that i need to make some changes deep within. in the past, new years have always brought the question of what resolution are you going to make? will it be a realistic one? is it one you have the intention of keeping? well, this year i plan to make several goals for myself – not necessarily resolutions just for 2011.

after lots of thought, reading, more thought, discussion, and more thought – here are my big five in no particular order of importance.

1. I will take care of myself physically, mentally, and spiritually.

2. I will take things less personally and be less concerned what others think of me and the decisions i make.

3. I will surround myself with good, supportive people who have my best interest at heart.

4. I will foster a healthy and loving home for my new husband and i to share.

5. I will do my best to remember never to take life for granted.

I wish you all the best in 2011 and send you strength, love, and happiness towards your own personal and professional goals ahead.

Cheers to you all!

Leave a Reply

